Cooking with Vikings and other Danish adventures

Pictures by BrknRib Photography

Pictures by BrknRib Photography

I found myself in the forest on the last day of my foodie tour along the coast of North Jutland, Denmark.

Trust me to start a story near the end hey? But I have good reason.

While I will do a post about the rest of the remarkable journey, for me it was not only a stand out moment from the trip but an experience I will remember forever – and as a result it deserves a mention of its own.

I ended up playing sous chef, partly thanks to my fellow colleagues having had a little to much to drink the night before, and what resulted was unlike any cookery programme I’ve ever seen.

As I recall HERE it felt like I was, in a way, fulfilling a role I’ve always felt fit for.

Viking jibes were among the more inventive I got at school for being a redhead. And ones I was quite happy with.

Granted I don’t go in for all of the past times attributed to the bearded seafarers, but I found myself feeling oddly at home gathered around a campfire with their modern day enthusiasts.

IMAG0552

Picking up some skills like fishing net stitching…

IMAG0565

And generally getting very, very hungry

IMAG0577

Laura Denmark Vikings pictures by BrknRib Photography

Picture by BrknRib Photography

Our host Jesper Lynge, aka Kjøgemester Oldfrue – who resembled a giggly Brian Blessed – had a real feast planned.

With salmon smoked over wood chippings, mussels cooked in cider and a mushroom porridge (above left) which was far tastier than the description would make you think.

My main job was chopping veg, but even that wasn’t ordinary, as I was handed a blade with a bone handle – after Jesper had showed us how sharp this ‘knife’ was by shaving part of his arm.

But somehow I managed to play a part in turning the table of ingredients, made from half a tree, into one of the most delicious meals I’ve ever devoured.

Most people I’ve mentioned any of this too have asked ‘what about drink?’ And the answer to that is we supped mead out of a communal horn between raising a toast to Thor. Obviously.

Pictures BrknRib Photography

Picture BrknRib Photography

My full feature, written for etc Magazine, can be seen HERE 

Leave a Reply

