Baking a wedding buffet ~ homemade jammie dodgers and other delights

Mr & Mrs Slaughter

Mr & Mrs Slaughter

So the first of my school friends have taken the plunge – there is no going back, for any of us – into the world of married life.
I’ve been to two weddings before – but they were both for the same uncle so I don’t think that counts.
It certainly felt different, the fact it was one of my generation and I was honoured to be asked to play a bakey part in it.

I don’t know if I went over the top.

But I did bake a bit of a mountain –  roughly 170 chocolate brownies, jammie dodgers and chocolate-dipped gingerbread.
DSCN4201Now I have blogged about the brownies before and even featured my fair share of gingerbread – leaving.. *drum roll please*

Jammie Dodgers – saying it in XFactor man’s voice works well I think.

It started with pinterest and finding this recipe which, for the most part, I stuck to.

(During my practise make I pimped them with my mum’s homemade Elderflower & Gooseberry Curd)

For the big day I think I quadrupled the quantities but this makes a nice bunch for everyday..

Ingredients:

250g butter, softened
150g caster sugar
1 medium egg yolk
½ tsp vanilla extract
300g plain flour
6 tbsp jam
Two cutters – one for top and bottom and one for the jammie hole.
Method:

Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl.
Beat in the egg yolk and vanilla.
Add the flour and mix in well – using your hands is always best.
Knead gently on a lightly floured surface, then divide into two pieces, form into a roll and wrap in cling film.

Leave to chill for at least 20-30 mins.
Set the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas Mark 4.
On a lightly floured surface, roll out each piece of dough to just a bit less than 5mm thick – it sounds a bit captain obvious to say it but keep count of how many bottoms you have (without a hole cut for jam) and how many tops (with hole) I lost count and sadly had to eat a lot of the bottoms…
Put on the baking sheets in batches and bake for 10-12 mins until pale golden.
Take off the tray and cool on a wire rack, sandwich with the jam and keep in an airtight tin.

2013-09-25 18.50.00

2013-09-26 07.15.28

 

More of the wedding bake

More of the wedding bake
The buffet

The buffet

DSCN4310

 

 

Leave a Reply

