Old-School Flavours ~ Coca Cola Cake

DSCN4268

One of my favourite things about being a member of Chichester’s Clandestine Cake Club is trying new things.
After the first meeting I had used up my reliable Victoria sponge so since then it’s been a tasty journey.
I am not sure about using fizzy drinks in baking, having made a pink lemonade cake  before, the texture is strange, almost like foam pillows.
But anyway, September’s theme was back to school, pear drops, penny sweets, coconut ice, grandma’s classics.. that sort of thing.
So I thought I would go for fizzy cola sweets and found the recipe here.

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

250g self-raising flour
45ml (3 tbsp) cocoa powder
5ml (1 tsp) bicarbonate of soda
150g soft brown sugar
150g butter
200ml Diet Coke
150ml buttermilk
2 medium eggs
5ml (1 tsp) vanilla extract

For the frosting:

100g plain chocolate (70% cocoa), broken into pieces
45ml (3 tbsp) Diet Coke
45ml (3 tbsp) buttermilk

Simple enough, the only weird bit was melting the butter and adding the coke to the pan.

DSCN4270

DSCN4269Ever cooked cola?

Then you end up with three bowlfuls –

1. cocoa powder, bicarbonate and sugar.
2. melted butter and coke
3. buttermilk, eggs and vanilla extract.

Not great for washing-up-phobes.

You mix 1 and 2 together before whisking in 3.

The recipe says 40 minutes, I baked mine in two rectangular tins and it didn’t take anywhere near as long.

I did it like that so I could do this…

 

2013-09-18 18.14.54

The frosting, made by melting the chocolate in pan with the coke over a gentle heat before removing and stirring in buttermilk, was key.

I’ll be honest without it the cake would have been a bit bland. The fizzy drinks is purely as an alternative raising agent I think. Don’t get me wrong the result is light and spongey, but I think I am a bigger fan of the more traditional.

It was a small gathering in September with two new members – who heard about the club via the cake and bake show in London – and just four cakes.

I quite like the smaller ones and not just because we take home more leftovers ; )

DSCN4273

DSCN4275

DSCN4274

 

The next club has an extra special twist, if you want to be a part of it please check out the details here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

