The Canadian Rockies and a tin of Maple Syrup Baked Beans…

I always hate being away from here for too long, but this time I have a very good excuse…

I’ve been taking pictures of rocks and water and water and rocks in Canada.

The last fortnight saw me enjoy a holiday of two very different parts. With four days in Los Angeles seeing family before heading to 
the Canadian Rockies to try to spot 
a bear.

I’ll confess that I’ve never been much of a city girl, I don’t mind visiting them but I like being able to leave too. So it wasn’t much of a surprise that the hustle and bustle of LA wouldn’t really be for me. The neon-lit smiles and Hollywood jazz hands getting lost in translation – (going into shops we were greeted with a overly upbeat ‘hey folks, how you doin?’ and before I could reply they had disappeared to give their automated spiel to the next person.)

But we did embrace the Americana to a degree when we went to a baseball game. Wearing giant foam fingers and eating nachos from a bowl shaped like a baseball cap. We didn’t have a clue what was going on but it was fun.

Needless to say I was a little bit relieved to swap the skyscrapers for mountains.

The Rockies are breathtakingly beautiful. We hiked up mountains and down waterfalls most days. Occasionally stopping Maple syrup baked beansto sleep or buy random maple syrup-infused gifts, including maple syrup baked beans – I kid you not…

They were interesting. The biggest challenge was working out what to eat with them.
Toast didn’t seem right and my appeal for pancakes was ignored so we ended up going with waffles.

My boyfriend seemed to like them (or was just being nice) whereas my mouth got too confused. I’m a bit stubborn when it comes to food. I like them to be either sweet or savoury. Don’t get me started on savoury muffins…

Anyway, back to Canada (and the point of this blog entry.) I also managed to burn my face while canoeing on a brilliant blue lake. Somehow the red went diagonally from forehead to chin making me spend a few days looking like David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust.

In fact my bizarre appearance 
is probably what kept the grizzly 
bears away.

Leave a Reply

