Roasted rhubarb and white chocolate sponge

When I was told the theme for the next Clandestine Cake Club was 5-a-day I only had one thought – rhubarb.

I absolutely love the stuff, and always like ingredients which toe the fruit/vegetable line.

However the only recipe I make is a triple baked rhubarb meringue pie, which just doesn’t obey the CCC rules.

So I went to google and oh my word are there some scrummy things out there. In the end it came down to rhubarb and custard cake (which I WILL make at some point) and the rhubarb and white chocolate sponge (seen here.)

As you may have guessed from the title, as often happens, the white chocolate won.

I made a couple of tweaks here and there, like adding chocolate buttons as decoration, but it was really simple:

Ingredients:

  • 150 g of plain flour
  • 50 g of ground almonds
  • 2 tsb of baking powder
  • 160 g of butter
  • 180 g of caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 splash of vanilla essence
  • 250 g of raw rhubarb
  • 100g of white chocolate, chopped
  • White chocolate buttons and icing sugar (for decoration.)
  1. First heat the oven to 180°C
  2. Then, one of my favourite parts of baking, butter a baking tin (mine was circular, 10in)
  3. Whisk the butter and sugar until well combined and creamy
  4. Roughly cut up the rhubarb into 2cm, or “top of thumb” sized pieces
  5. Add the eggs one at a time, alternating with a sprinkle of flour to help it mix
  6. Stir in the rest of the flour, add the baking powder and the splash of vanilla essence.
  7. Breathe in (I love the smell of vanilla)
  8. Add the almonds, if you are not a fan don’t worry – you can’t taste them in the finished cake.
  9. Then mix in the chopped white chocolate (I cut each square into four pieces)
  10. Scoop the batter into the tin (a lick of the spoon is optional)
  11. Push the pieces of rhubarb into the top of the cake mix, be artistic, I didn’t realise it would show in the end so I am glad I was.
  12. Bake for 30-35 minutes, check with a skewer or sharp knife – when it comes out clean you are done
  13. Once cooled decorate with a sprinkle of icing sugar
  14. I used buttercream to stick on white buttons to the outside

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

