Clandestine Cake Club: Nostalgic and Birthday Bakes

My second visit to the secret club was almost rained off, but luckily on the very day of the meeting the clouds parted, declared “there will be cake,” and I was freed from my flooded-in abode.

Unluckily this left me with zero-time to cook – however not one to turn up empty handed that wasn’t going to stop me, instead my Chocolate Roulade Tortoise with Surprise Insides was built rather than baked.

But enough about my cake… check out the masterworks from the other members:

A sweet strawberry treat from the ever-amazing FlourVonSponge.
Just look at those perfect meringues on top! Not to mention it had beautiful buttercream, boasting fresh, real, proper strawberries meaning it tasted sublime.
And for that reason, it very quickly looked like this…

It’s not everyday you get to eat a rainbow either… well, unless you are addicted to skittles. And while this creation looks stunning I can assure you it tasted just as yummy, plus I think you’ll agree adding chocolate coins was pure genius!

Normally I confess I’m not the biggest fan of the beach.

Salt water scares me and sand is like the glitter of the natural world. And if you want to know my thoughts on glitter see here

But if this banana and chocolate sandcastle is anything to go by I might just change my mind and become a beach-bum.

With stylish sunglasses, mini-bunting and biscuit crumb sand it was great fun.

No surprises the creator has just started her own cake company.

I’m pretty sure I could hear my dentist tremble as soon as I got near Helen’s kit-kat and dolly mixture creation.

An interesting re-mix of a classic design it was never going to disappoint, but the great decoration surpassed by the rich, moist sponge.

Thankfully one of my favourite nostalgic recipes the Upside Down Pineapple Cake was on hand to add a little bit of the healthy onto the table (well it has fruit in it at least!)

Having made it myself many time I thought I knew the cake fairly well. But it would seem a bit of pineapple juice in the sponge makes it a whole other, and much tastier, experience.

That is one of the things I like the most about the CCC. It’s much more than just a good excuse to eat cake, it’s a means of finding out little tips and tricks, and sharing and spreading the passion for all things naughty but very, very nice!

Then, there was this…

I mean… what can I say?! I’ve never baked with peanut butter before but have always wanted to.
And now I am in that tricky position of being inspired to finally do it, while at the same time wondering if there is any point as I don’t think I could ever come close to this!

6 Comments

  1. Wow, amazing-looking cakes! I hope to make it to a Chi CCC meet-up soon (am in Southampton most Weds), though I don\’t think my baking skills would lead to anything as magnificent as any of these!

    Hungry Jenny x

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Roulade Tortoise with Suprising Insides | writestitchup

Leave a Reply

