Should life be more like Rallycross?

When was the last time you tried something new?
This is what my brain asked me the other day, as I was belted into a rally cross buggy next to the British champion.
And it dawned on me that you can get into a rut of a routine without realising it.
It’s not necessarily a bad thing.
People are usually creatures of habit because they have worked out what they like.
For instance if I go to a Chinese restaurant, chances are I will have sweet and sour.
An Indian restaurant? Korma.
A French restaurant? Anything with fries.

But giggling with glee as I was flung around the track I couldn’t help but think – sometimes it is more fun outside of your comfort zone.
I was there to write an article. And the sad thing is I wouldn’t have been there for any other reason.
But I absolutely loved it.
So much so I was surprised – I thought I would be lucky to get out alive never mind smiling. That isn’t a reflection on the driver’s skills at all – more the likelihood I would die of fright.
I’m the kind of girl who is terrified of bumper cars.
So of course I was scared at first.
Even my hands had butterflies as they trembled trying to zip up my jumpsuit.
But as soon as the throttle growled into action there was no time to worry.
Roaring from 0 – 60mph in 4 seconds meant any fears were left behind on the start line. It was all I could do to remember to hold on.
The mud leapt to get out of our way and soon I was out-grinning the Cheshire cat. So you can imagine my glee when they passed me the controls.
The thrill is something which will stay with me for a while.
In fact it got me thinking – perhaps, occasionally, life should be a bit more like rally cross.

Leave a Reply

