I’m a GIVER – World Book Night 2012

Can you believe it?

I couldn’t.

Sitting quietly amidst the pile of emails I came home to was this gem. I only applied under my usual “got to be in it to win it” whim. And what would you know, it has finally paid off.

For those of you who don’t know about World Book Night, let me ask you this –

Have you ever enjoyed a book so much you can’t wait to give it away? You know the sort. It just sticks in your mind and gets under your skin to the extent you need to share its story.
Well this feeling is what fuels World Book Night.

On April 23, 20,000 people across the county will be giving away 24 copies of a book they love. (And I will be one of them.)

My book is the brilliant and beautiful Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger.

While its title may make it sound like it is a tedious attempt at rewriting the rom-com it is a fantastic tale that everyone who has loved and lost can relate too – whether your partner is a time traveller or otherwise. Full of feelings, longing and loneliness.

The book tells the intriguing story of Claire and Henry, who meet when Claire is 6 and Henry is 36 but marry when Claire is 20 and Henry 28.

As the story moves like Henry does the result is captivating. You almost feel like you have to just hold on for the ride and let it take you where it wishes. However don’t let the sci-fi aspect put you off. It is told with a lightness of touch which gives it a real believability.

In 2009 the pages of Time Traveller’s Wife were translated onto the silver screen. And one of the main reasons I go to the cinema is to see what the film makers have done with a story.

But I know many other people will go to the cinema as they simply don’t have the time to sit down with the story. Which I think is a real shame. For me films are so much better if you have already created your own connection with what is being told. 

These are some of the reasons why, in my application to be a World Book Night giver, I said that I would love to give my books away at the Picturedrome in Bognor Regis. For me this is exactly what a cinema should be like. It has heart and no neon lights for a start.
Sadly the Picturedrome is once again under threat, this time from plans to create a multiplex in the town, so while it isn’t a big action I am hoping this event will help to once again highlight a very important cause.

To find out more about the Picturedrome, Bognor Regis, PO21 1DW , please visit http://www.picturedromebognor.com

For more about World Book Night please visit www.worldbooknight.org

Another local bookworm will be giving away The Book Thief in Chichester on April 23.

Leave a Reply

