Pottering about…

West Dean is one of my favourite places in the known universe.
I have quilted, enameled and glass fused there as well as making a silver ring and a wire bird sculpture. In truth, if I could live there.. I would.

In my column about crafting Christmas I mentioned that I had been there again and this time turned my hand to making a ceramic plantpot.. so here is a bit more about that day…

 

This is our tutor Gordon Cooke demonstrating how to roll out the clay slabs.

He then filled a bowl shaped plaster cast and repeated to have two.

These were then joined together to create an air filled orb.

Then the scariest part.. cutting the opening…

 

 

 

 

 

And here is what I made…

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

