Swimathon 2011

Yesterday, Saturday 09/04/11 I took part in Swimathon 2011.

Last Thursday I wrote my column about preparing for it…


I’ll be honest I was really nervous, which was an odd feeling seeing as I am pretty confident in my swimming skills.

But as the clock turned 5:30 and I pushed off I knew it would be fine. And I was lucky enough to have my sister and one of my oldest friends on the poolside counting.

I won’t say it was easy, 100 lengths is a VERY long way, but I did well and beat my own target of completing it in under an hour – touching the side for the final time at 56 mins 15 seconds.

Best of all, thanks to friends and family I have helped to raise a lot of money for a very good cause, Marie Curie Cancer Care. Getting fit in the meantime! It’s a great event, long may it continue : )

Leave a Reply

